My Reaction to being told I had won!

As I sat in the lobby to Dr. Lowery-Hart’s office I began to fantasize about what we would be talking about. To be honest, I was really hoping that he would tell me that I was going to be going, and that all this “final interview” nonsense was all made up. I was worried about how my interview would go, because it was going to be a one on one talk, not in groups. While I sat on one of the couches I thought I was going to faint before he arrived back from lunch.

Finally Dr. Lowery-Hart arrived to his office; he greeted me, as I did too. We both stepped into his office where we both took a seat. He asked me how I was doing, and where I was going. I told him that I was going home for the weekend, and that I really felt bad about not making it to the final round. We talked for a few minutes before he asked me what time I had to be at the airport. I told him that I was to be at the airport at three. He then told me in a serious and low voice that what he was about to tell me I could not tell anyone else. Some part of me deep down inside was excited because I knew I had won, but I wasn’t for sure, so I didn’t show any expression on my face yet. “David, you’re going to Europe,” he told me. I believe I smiled from the shock and for a second or two didn’t say anything. I didn’t know what to say, I was actually really surprised that I had won. Dr. Lowery-Hart then told me the reason why we had not been notified by email about our success. At this time I was upset that I wasn’t going to be able to be with the other winners.

At the end of my talk with Dr. Lowery-Hart I said thanks and goodbye to him. As I headed back to my dorm room, my face was in a state of permanent smile. I couldn’t wait to get to Dallas and tell my mom that I wasn’t going to be going home for spring break, instead was going to be going to Poland! I am very thankful for everyone that has made this possible, and I will never forget how happy and successful this has made my first year in college.

Published in: on November 14, 2007 at 4:39 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://readershipwt.wordpress.com/2007/11/14/my-reaction-to-being-told-i-had-won/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

