Wait…I’m going where?

At first glance, the assignment to write my reflections on the book Night by Elie Wiesel appeared to be just another blow-off essay. That of course was before I had actually read the book. The last things I expected to be doing during my summer break before my freshman year in college were diving into a book about the Holocaust and writing an essay about it. Well, dive in I did and thus began my journey into the Readership WT Ambassadors.

I never actually believed I would be selected as an Ambassador. My grades on essays in high school indicated that I was far from being the best writer amongst my peers. After reading Night, however, writing down my thoughts seemed to be the only way to get them out of my mind, regardless of how well I would fare in the essay competition.

The first shock was being summoned back after submitting my essay. Somewhat surprised that my essay stuck out to them, I prepared for my informal interview. Well, it is hard to call it an interview because, despite the panel of nearly a dozen professors, the process felt more like a conversation than anything. All that was left was to wait for an e-mail with either good or bad news. When I opened up that e-mail expecting an answer, all I got was a summon to yet another interview. Confused and slightly irritated about the delay of results, I prepared for the next interview. This time it was to be formal. At least I had made it through the first one…

Eighteen of the remaining twenty “candidates” appeared for our second and hopefully final interview. Dr. Lowery-Hart explained that, due to the strengthened Euro, we would have to shave down the number of students going to Poland. Everyone seemed upset. After coming so far, how terrible would it be to be one of the few that fell just short of making it into the program? I felt calm at the time, but I knew that as soon as I stepped into my interview, that tranquility would vanish into thin air. Oh well, I could at least boast having made it thus far.

It took me a long while to realize that I had made it. “I just want to let you know before we begin the final interview that you should all be very proud of yourselves for making it this far in the competition. You are all going to Poland.” Dr. Lowery-Hart made the announcement and the only thing that went through my head was that I had heard this speech so many times before. It wasn’t until I had heard the first couple of excited screams that I realized what he had actually said. Hopefully I wasn’t the only slow one that day. Oh wait, Poland doesn’t even use the Euro as its currency. Why hadn’t I thought of that before?

Of course, my first reaction was to call my parents. Within the next two minutes after the call to my mom, half the world knew I was going to Poland. Hey, it made my job a little easier.

-Marc Dunbar

Published in: on November 19, 2007 at 7:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://readershipwt.wordpress.com/2007/11/19/waitim-going-where/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

