People Like Me

So, I have been reading the essays of the other people in my class. Reading and thinking. What excites me the most, more than going (as awful as that may sound) or learning new things, is the fact that I get to do it with a group of people who are so enthusiastic about really making a change in this world, whatever change they can make. I think that this trip would not be anywhere near as empowering or as much as an learning opportunity if I was the only person who really cared about this trip.

What else really gets me is the amount of work that I have to do still before we can go. There is so much to learn, and so much to understand about the differences in culture, life, history, language. It makes me laugh that when we go, these few weeks will amount to less knowledge about Poland then a second grade polish child knows. It also excites me that I am going to a land with such a rich and cherished history. Although my passion is acting, history has always been something that I just love to dissect and attempt to understand what events in history have had such long armed results.

I cannot honestly say that I know what to expect from this trip, or how I will change, I just know I will never be the same again.

Shalom,

Allan 

Published in: on February 14, 2008 at 2:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://readershipwt.wordpress.com/2008/02/14/people-like-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

